Menu Close

Library Board

The Cameron-J. Jarvis Troup Municipal Library ("Library"), created by the Troup City Council as a Library Department of the City of Troup, shall function according to the laws of the State of Texas and the provisions of the resolution governing the Library.

The Board shall administer and supervise the operation of the Library.

The Board may formulate such rules and regulations as it shall deem necessary for the orderly use of the Library facilities and for governing the performance of duties of the Library employees and personnel. The Board shall employ the salaried staff of the Library and select volunteers and set the policies under which the Library staff shall operate.

The Board shall prepare and recommend annual budgets for the Library.

The Board shall cooperate with other public and private groups in recommending specific programs to be carried out by the Library for the benefit of children, the elderly, and other groups and work to advance the best interest of the Library.

The Board of Trustees of the Library shall be composed of eleven (11) members of which two (2) members will be representatives of the Jarvis and Cameron families. Board members shall serve without compensation.

The Mayor or a designated member of City Council and the Librarian shall be ex-officio members of the Board.


Mr. Joe McElroy, President

Mrs. Jan Singletary, Vice-President

Mrs. Sue Hunter, Secretary

Mr. Hart Cameron, Cameron Family Representative

Mr. John Jarvis, Jarvis Family Representative

Mr. Fielding Winchester, City Council Representative

Mrs. Cindy Steele, Member

Mrs. Sonja Rountree, Member

Dr. Gene Whitsell, Member

Mrs. Carrie Williams, Member

Ms. Glenna Searcy, Member

Mrs. Melanie Johnson, Member


The Librarian shall have sole charge of the administration of the Library under the direction and review of the Board. The Librarian shall be responsible for the care of the building and equipment and the direction of the staff, for the efficiency of the Library's service to the public, and for the operation of the Library under the financial conditions set forth in the annual budget.
The Librarian shall be an ex-officio member of the Board and shall attend all Board meetings.

Every meeting of the Board must be conducted in accordance with article 6252-17, V.T.C.S, the Texas Open Meeting Law. The Open Meeting Law requires that written notice of the date, hour, and place of every meeting, together with an agenda describing items to be considered, be posted 72 hours in advance of such meeting on a bulletin board accessible to the general public day or night. (Notices are displayed at City Hall).

There are two exceptions to this requirement:

  1. The Chairman may in the case of an emergency or urgent public necessity call a special meeting requiring only two (2) hours notice.
  2. If items are to be added to the agenda of a meeting for which 72 hours notice has already been posted, a supplemental notice listing such items must be posted at least two (2) hours prior to the meeting, stating the emergency that requires action on the additional items.